These sturdy street
merchants have paused a moment on Bernard Road. In left background is the
Chapel of the Centurion. To right is the Lincoln Gun, since moved to a
different location"
THE CHAPEL OF THE
CENTURION
Welcome to the
Army's oldest wooden structure in continuous use for religious services. The
Chapel is named after the Roman Centurion, Cornelius, who was brought to
Christianity by Peter.
Religious services at Fort Monroe
began on a regular basis in 1825 when the Reverend Mark Chevers came to the
fort. He was the rector of St. John's Episcopal Church, Hampton. For several
years he came to Fort Monroe on alternate Sundays to various quarters for
services. 1 December 1838, he became the Post Chaplain and continued that
assignment until his death, 13 September 1875, having served the garrison
over fifty years. A small chapel in the Chapel Center is named in honor of
Chaplain Chevers.
22 June 1855, an explosion in the mixing room of the laboratory in the
arsenal at the fort killed Francis M. McKnight and Henry Sheffis, two
artificers working with
Lieutenant Julian McAllister.
McAllister's thankfulness for God's sparing his life resulted in the
construction of the chapel.
Through the personal efforts of Lieutenant McAllister and his Commander,
Captain Alexander B. Dyer, $6,000.00 was donated for the construction of the
chapel. Richard Upjohn, noted architect, designed the building [HN1]
and construction began in 1856. Bishop John Johns from the Episcopal Diocese
of Virginia consecrated the chapel 3 May 1858.
Chaplain Osgood Herrick succeeded Chaplain Mark Chevers in 1875. During the
last ten years of Chaplain Herrick's assignment as the Post Chaplain,
various stained glass windows and chancel furnishings were installed and
dedicated to the glory of God in memory of loved ones who had been stationed
at the fort. When Chaplain Herrick departed in 1890, gifts of windows and
furnishings continued through Chaplain
George Dunbar's tour
as Post Chaplain, 1903-1911.
A fire occurred in the chapel on 27 April 1933, during the funeral of a
sergeant who had earlier told the Post Chaplain, "If I went to church— the
chapel would burn up." The casket had been brought into the chapel when fire
was noticed burning at the top of the roof above the organ. The casket was
placed on the porch of the quarters opposite the chapel entrance since the
caisson and driver had departed across the parade field as the members of
the congregation left the building. The funeral service resumed after the
fire was extinguished. The chapel congregation participated in a great
centennial celebration in 1958. Several stained glass windows were designed
and dedicated at that time. Since 1958 the final placement of stained glass
windows in the nave and narthex have been completed. [In 1976 the Narthex
stained-glass windows were the last to be installed in the Chapel.]
In April 1968 a major restoration was begun under the able hand of the Post
Engineer, Colonel Stanford Polonsky. The building was raised allowing a
brick foundation to be built and a heating and air conditioning system to be
installed. The needle point cushions were completed during 1973-77. The
present pews are the fourth set to be used in the chapel. The pews which
replaced the original pine benches in 1880 were removed in 1966. The oak
pews installed in 1981 are crafted after the ones installed in 1880. The
unique intertwining of the lives of those remembered in the furnishings of
the chapel add a dimension of history at Fort Monroe unparalleled in most
Army installations. In 1970, Mrs. Paul Erickson began the fascinating
collection of data concerning the windows and furnishings in the chapel.
Through her tenacious efforts in writing and talking to family members of
those memorialized, a rich tapestry was formed of the meeting of artist and
soldier.